The Bounty Hunter Promo Poster

My mind was wondering on the tube today, as it often does, and decided to settle upon a new poster for The Bounty Hunter.  Looks fun, I thought.

Gerard Butler built up his star persona in ‘bloke’ films – Rock ‘N’ Rolla, 300 – then started to appear in romantic comedies – P.S. I Love You, The Ugly Truth, and now, The Bounty Hunter.  He tricked us men!  He lured us in to Gerard-the-lad world so deep that we never realised it’s a ‘chick flick’.

Consider The Ugly Truth – a film that I haven’t seen, I’ll admit now – but from what I understand has its particular ‘comedy’ emphasis on the gross out.  The Bounty Hunter, likewise, appears to take a more male-centric genre, action, and adapt it for romance.  Katherine Hegel stars alongside him in the former, an actress who cemented her status in Knocked Up – another male-centric film (see: Judd Apatow’s casual, but probably not intended, sexism).

I presume men and women adore Gerard Butler about equally, as they probably both do for Hegel, and in the most recent case, for the sympathy pit Jennifer Aniston.  The rom-com is shifting in demographic by targeting both halves of the heterosexual gender, by making films that appeal just as much to a particular concept of the male spectator

I digress.  My original point – the poster:

In the version I saw, the catch line read “LOCKING UP YOUR EX. BEST JOB EVER”.  Thanks to a signal failure at Upminster, I stared at the poster a little longer than it’s probably meant to be.  My first impression, as I previously wrote, was “that looks fun”.

Staring at it longer though, parts and sections of it began to pop out at me like a horny Robert Langdon working on a clue.  Gerard Butler is sitting on top of Jennifer Aniston WITH HANDCUFFS.  The tagline reads “LOCKING UP YOUR EX”??!?  Straight away we have Aniston tied to a bed, submissive, as her place in the poster suggests, underneath a panting, oscillating Butler.  Follow this train of thought.  “BEST JOB EVER”?!??!?*?:S!  Any way one reads that, the sentence’s emphasis purely lies in ‘job’.  Hand job?  Blow job?  Steve Jobs?  Take your pick.  Both actors have half-smiles.  How alluring!  They’re doing something kinky, and you can only be in on it if you watch the film.  Why not opt for a more conventional Aniston grump and Butler laughing approach?  Considering the film’s narrative, that would surely be more suitable.  Additionally, the version of the poster I saw had The Bounty Hunter in a red strip across its lower third.  A red band?  The most forbidden of trailers…

Why this preoccupied my thoughts since is because of the levels the poster works on.  Initially, I thought it looked fun.  But really?  What in that poster suggests ‘fun’?  Bar my own experience of Butler ‘fun’, nothing about the poster makes one ‘lol’, or dare I say, ‘rofl’.  Yet the mini-Freud lurking around the ol’ medulla oblongata felt the need to secrete a few of the specialty hormones.

It’s fascinating how many things must register on a subconscious level – things that, however harmless or disguised, alter one’s subjectivity.  Just like when getting a professional massage, it’s odd to realise someone else can know more about your body than you do.  Likewise, when acknowledging the manipulative effects of a promotional poster, you’re acknowledging an advertiser knows more about your own brain.

I’m aware that this has been covered by a great many people who have far more insightful comments (as pointed out by my girlfriend when I told her), but those moments of recognition never fail to wrong foot you.

It doesn’t matter any more, though.  I found a poster that turns me on way more

One response to “The Bounty Hunter Promo Poster

  1. What i don’t realize is if truth be told how you’re now not actually a lot more neatly-favored than you might be now. You are so intelligent. You know therefore considerably when it comes to this topic, made me for my part consider it from numerous various angles. Its like women and men are not fascinated unless it’s something to do with Girl gaga! Your individual stuffs great. Always handle it up!

Leave a Reply

