Avatar – continuing underwhelment

After being disappointed that ‘underwhelment’ isn’t actually a word, in trying to describe how I felt this morning when I woke, I went searching for other people’s opinions to help clarify my own.  I’m confused by Avatar.  Not by the film of course, because it’s so retardedly simple (what, ‘retardedly’ isn’t either?), but of my own continuing reactions to it.

My companion that night summed it up perfectly: “completely underwhelming and overwhelming at the same time”.  A pretty good conclusion, and a contradiction which has kept Avatar in my thoughts for a lot longer than it deserves.

Here’s a brilliant audiovisual review of Avatar by RedLetterMedia.  It may not be as masterful as his 7-part Phantom Menace deconstruction, but still very insightful…

Leave a Reply

